Review of Oh.’s “Metallia” by Lee Davidson of “Prog Metal Madness”
by on August 10, 2018 in Metallia reviews

Lee Davidson - Prog Metal Madness which he maintains with Mike PearceLee Davidson wrote an amazing review of “Metallia” on his website Prog Metal Madness.

Lee is an accomplished bassist in many bands and a self-confessed prog and metal music addict. He says he prefers more complex and layered music, bands and sounds with agressive, haunting or threatening edge. “Metallia” couldn’t have fallen into better hands..

His website Prog Metal Madness which he maintains with Mike Pearce, presents a variety of prog, metal, tech djent, and jazz metal…As he says, “any music that is mad!”

Please check out Lee’s show on Ridge Radio every Monday between 9 and 11 pm.

Thank you again for this incredible review. I truly appreciate this coming from a musician who knows just how much work goes into a production. And who enjoys layered, complex and more ‘mad” music.

Lee is an wonderful storyteller and writer but the final paragraph is epic:

So, what does it actually sound like then? Well, in short I can’t say if you like ‘x’ band you will love this as there really is a lot of influence and styles melded in to its 25 minute run time yet I can say that if you put Kate Bush, Auf Der Maur, Ayreon, Chiasmata, Igorrr, old White Zombie and Amogh Symphony in a blender with serveral metronomes running different time signatures, add a healthy dash of thrash riffs to the proggy mix and baked the resulting mixture for several hours you probably wouldnt even come close to the sound…did that help? Nope? OK then check this out

Read the review on his website.

Lee Davidson - Prog Metal Madness which he maintains with Mike Pearce

A crazy mix of prog, tech, djent, jazz and other underground metal styles rolled up into a Monday night.

You can listen to Lee Davidson host of ProgMetalMadness

Monday, 9-11pm (GMT) on Ridge Radio.


Past shows

1. The Tumor Called Marla – Stainglory
2. Oh – Bee
3. Orchestrate The End – The Decleration of Madness
4. Skyharbor – Dissent
5. Prognosis – High Road
6. An Endless Sporadic – Finding The Falls
7. Erra – Valhalla
8. Tacoma Narrows Bridge Disaster – Truth Escapes
9. Veil of Maya – Doublespeak
10. Earthtone9 – Walking Day

1. Time, The Valuator – The Violent Sound
2. Circles – Dream Sequence
3. Dog Fashion Disco – Worm In A Dogs Heart
4. Monuments – A.W.O.L
5. Arch Echo – Afterburger
6. Arch Echo – Interview pt.1
7. Arch Echo – Hip Dipper
8. Arch Echo – Interview pt.2
9. Arch Echo Spark
10. Deity’s Muse – Ascendance

For the Scrapbook

Prog Metal Madness

Prog Metal Madness Review Oh – Metallia (2)

Olivia Hadjiioannou, Ολίβια Χατζηιωάννου, Oh., Press photos, Official Photos, Music, News, Greece, metal, RockMulti-instrumentalist and director Olivia Hadjiioannou as the artist Oh. has been honored for her ingenuity, innovation and creativity in music and video with multiple international awards. She made her debut as Oh. on the international music scene with the award-winning music video, "Trials" in 2013 – cited as one of the 50 top events to mark Greece during the economic crisis. With the advances of immersive video, she released her single "Love of Avalanches", mentioned in Huffington Post as one of first 360-degree immersive VR videos released by a Greek artist on YouTube in 2016.

The music video "Red Lion" is presently a winner and official selection in 12 film festivals worldwide. Winner of Best Music Video award in the inaugural French Riviera Film Festival (FRFF) in Cannes, France. Winner Best Music Video at the Cosmocinema Film Festival in London. Winner of the Best Music Video Short in The Psychedelic and Transpersonal Film and Music Festival that took place on May 25, 2019 at The Producer’s Club in New York City. Winner Best Experimental Mixed Media Short Film at the Paleochora Lost World Short Film Festival in Southwestern Crete in Greece. Read more in her Bio and EPK

The EP “Metallia” has received over 32 reviews from 13 countries worldwide, is in top 10 progressive rock and metal charts and listed as one of the best albums of the year for 2018 on Metal Nation Radio.

CD Metallia - Oh. aka Olivia Hadjiioannou

“Metallia” by Oh. is an epical prog-metal composition in six parts. A multi-layered sonic piece of ravishing solo electric guitars, time-bending tempo shifts, grooving bass lines and deranged drums.

This instrumental progressive metal album will reveal its intricacies and hidden depths over time. It will extract from your mind pure visions, to mend your mental pictures, preen presumptions and to elicit an element of the unexpected…. because that is what will transmute your subliminal mind map into a remarkable blueprint which will lead you from wherever you are now, to wherever you want to be.

Available on Bandcamp

Weird and Wonderful World of Oh.

Do you want to follow the journey? Subscribe below to
The Weird & Wonderful World of Oh.

* indicates required


Leave a Reply

© 2019 All rights reserved Privacy Policy • Terms of Service